It’s just unbelievable.

One of the slackest, laziest, most whiny guys I’ve ever known in my life made it to Duke.

Before I could have even gotten over the shock of news some years ago when his other lazy, whiny, joker-cum-slacker friend got into the local medical school.

Seriously. Two of the slackest guys in my class are potential doctors in the making. What does this tell? Yes, my class was very smart. There is no question in that. But do you know that save a couple of us including me who have never ever aspired to dorn the white robes, the rest of the class actually dreamt to be doctors? Even with straight As for more than half the class at “A” levels, barely half made it to the interview and ultimately only a handful successfully got into the medical school the following year.

Is there no QC for our saviours in white coats?  

This perhaps goes to prove that people do change for the better (that is, if going to Duke means improvement) with time, even men. And that I shouldn’t be so judgemental with the opposite sex. A slacker in the past doesn’t mean that he will remain one forever. There may come a day when he finally wakes up and unleashes his full potential.

Then again, does he score more points now that he’s in Duke?

Not really. A white coat doesn’t turn me on.

Give me a toolbox any day. 

