“I can’t be your boyfriend….

….but that doesn’t mean that I don’t love you.”

 

These words keep coming back to haunt me.

Don’t you worry, no one said that to me (or is this an actual cause worthy of worry?). These were lines from a movie.

Sometimes I find it hard to understand. If you love me, why can’t you be with me? Why can’t you stay by my side?

Why is it so hard? What’s the actual obstacle standing in our paths? Parents’ objection? Others’ disapproval? Or is it really just a lack of courage from you, to stand up to our love and go against all odds? Selfishness? Or worse, do you simply not love me enough to make the sacrifice?

Or is it me who is selfish or do not love you enough, therefore wanting you to sacrifise for our “happiness”? Why must it be you who have to make the painful decision? Why can’t it be me who leave first, so that you do not have to make any decision which you may eventually regret?

I have a lot of questions but I also have one answer (I think):
Because if we love each other and yet do not be together, we will both suffer. Even though we may be miles apart, our agony will be common.

In any movie, unrequited love always makes a good ending as long as the story is reasonable. It leaves a sour pange at the deepest of your heart that you will remember for a long long time. But call me a hopeless romantic, I always prefer the “hugs and kisses”, “happily ever after” type of ending.

Because, yes, love alone cannot make a relationship work, but love should have you giving your best.  

If you love me, you will be with me.

Then again, perhaps I don’t understand love.

