I cannot believe that it’s over.

Even though it has barely been a month.

I can still remember that fateful day.

Yes, it was 19 June and my company held an important annual event in Orchard that day. Since I was already in the town area, why not shop around for a while? That was exactly what I did, why I popped by Kinokuniya.

Who would have known what destiny had in mind for me when I stepped into the store?

Yes, it was love at first sight. BUT I was the one who allowed the romance, the one who gave in.

And see where it has gotten me now that it’s finally over.

I had foreseen the end. I really had. I had known exactly how I would feel when the inevitable happened.

The void. Emptiness. Loss.

Yet I let it develop. Flourished from a tiny spark of lust, passion, to a deep relationship which enveloped me entirely.

But I do not regret it.

Yes, it has been brief, but it has also been a whirlwind of colours so beautiful that it has taken my breath away.

It was a time too short, but it was a period of good times, good memories and that cannot be replaced.

Do you understand how I feel now?

Is it the same for you everytime you finish a good book?

The four books which make up the tetralogy by popular Russian writer Sergei Lukyanenkothat – namely, “Night Watch”, “Day Watch”, “Twilight Watch” and “Last Watch” – are the best that I’ve read in a long time. Basically, these are fantasy novels where the story revolves around a confrontation between two opposing supernatural groups (known as “Others”) – the Night Watch and the Day Watch. The former is an organization made up by the Light Others (i.e. good people) dedicated to policing the actions of the Dark Others (i.e. the baddies) and the latter, consisting of the Dark ones, polices the actions of the Light Others. There is a third group made up of both Light and Dark Others who have ditched their Watches to join the Inquisition who oversees both Watches to ensure that the equilibrium is kept in the world where magicians, werewolves, vampires, shapeshifters, witches and many more of the immortal roam among the normal Earthlings.

I first knew of the book when the first movie, released in Russia in 2004, was finally available in the local theatres some years ago. The reviews in the papers and magazines were so raving good that I knew that I had to catch it. I did, and I was the one who was captured. I was hooked. I borrowed the book from the library and read it. It was a fabulous read but the local library did not have the other books in the tetralogy then. It was some good years later when I accidentally chanced upon “Last Watch” at the “New books” section in the Japanese bookstore. I was out of the store with the entire series faster than you could recite the author’s name. And as they say, the rest was history.

What makes the books addictive is not just the mystical touch, it is the moral dilemma, faced constantly by the characters, of keeping one’s humanity while being strong, interwoven in between the intense action-packed plots. Don’t we fight the same dark gloomy battle every other day, sans the magic, spells, amulets and protective shields?

But in the end, as with these books and any other movie, the Light always triumphs. Call me naive, but I will continue to believe it.

