Like I’ve always said, I have a very poor sense of humour. I find a million things in the world tickling to the bones. I saw this old-school English comedy “Mind Your Language” on the new Kids’ Central channel, okto, and was immediately captivated by it. YouTube hosts all 29 episodes and I’m already more than halfway through.

Yes, it’s a really old TV series that was first released in 1977 and had three seasons over the following two years. It’s even older than me, but I enjoy the show thoroughly! It is set in a school for adult students in London, focusing on the English as a foreign language taught by one very good-looking and charming Mr Jeremy Brown (portrayed by a currently very dead Barry Evans), who had to deal with a motley crew of foreigners. These students could not speak much English except for a few (but they spoke with funny accents) and that’s where most of the humour comes from.

Another interesting aspect of the show is the interaction between the students of different nationalities and backgrounds, e.g. between the Muslim Pakistani and the Sikh Indian, or the Chinese and the Japanese. In modern times, this show would never have been made in the first place because it is as politically incorrect and racist as ever possible! However in its day, the show was popular because of its light-hearted take on multiculturalism which is something that I still appreciate some thirty years later.

Here’s a hilarious clip from the first episode with one of my favourite characters Ali Nadeem. Mr Brown asked him to make a sentence starting with the words “You are”, a misunderstanding occurred and laughter ensued:

