I was listening to the news on radio this morning on my way to work and one piece of the news was on the last words of the poor lawyer who had youth and a bright career but was forcibly taken away by the stupid slaves of the Devil we called terrorists.

In her last few moments in this world, Ms Lo called her husband and sent an email to her closest friends via her Blackberry. She told her husband, now made a widower, that she loved him, and she ended off her email to her friends by saying, if I don’t make it out of here, I love you all.

That last bit almost got my tears.

I wondered what I would have done, who I would have called, what I would have said. No matter what, I would be certain, that these people who have come to my mind at such a critical time, would have been the loves of my life.

But why wait until a moment like this to tell them that you love them?

Why only do so when there’s nothing more you can give to them but words?

If you know you are going to die tomorrow, you will do it today. But you never think that tomorrow may really be your last, do you?

But what if it is? Who can say for sure that it won’t be? Then are you going to be one of those who go with remorseful regrets? Man is silly. We do not know how to cherish it until we lose it. We do not see it until it disappears right in front of our eyes. We wait until it is all too late. We fight every day. Yet we do not know what we are fighting for. Or we are fighting for and wasting our time on what ain’t really important, instead of spending it on more meaningful things.

I don’t know about you, but I live every day as if it is my last. Because it just may. Don’t name me pessimistic because I am far from it. As I’ve always said, there’s nothing more certain in life than death. Because no matter how much you try to avoid it, it will definitely arrive at your doorstep one day. Yet of course, there’s nothing as unpredictable as well. When you have accepted death, only then will you know how to live. Death itself is not scary because you know that it will be both your and my final destination; to die with such regrets is probably the scariest.  

“Regret for time wasted can become a power for good in the time that remains, if we will only stop the waste and the idle, useless regretting.”
– Arthur Brisbane

