It’s 3pm and I’m having the first break of my day other than lunch, which is really rare as compared to the good old days when I was practically slacking around for the entire day. I’m not free now because I have finished all my work. I’m kind of forced to take a break as all the resources which I need are currently utilised by other colleagues! I’m considering starting my future workdays later and work until after everyone else has gone home so that I can have all the archives and computers to myself, which will be more efficient and less time wasting for me, I suppose. However, leaving the office after 8pm is not exactly a pleasing thought.

Anyway this morning, the entire unit was informed of my pending departure, all thanks to the slightly annoying manager who announced it during their meeting. Yes, I am kind of pissed because I had wanted to tell everyone myself, especially the colleagues whom I am closer to. I did not tell that woman by the way. It was my boss who told the manager last Thursday as she probably thought that I had already done so (since she started by saying, “As you know, she is not staying…”) and we needed the manager’s help to expedite the unfinished work, hence she would need to know the reason behind the urgency. Therefore this morning as she was delegating the work to the other staff, she informed them of my situation, which doubtlessly led to an interrogation at the end of the meeting – me versus everyone else who cared enough to ask a few questions.

While I tried not to reveal the identity of my new employer, everyone made the correct guess upon the first attempt. I thought it was kind of freaky, but everyone said that it’s the first company they thought of as it is the largest in the industry. I guess I could treat that as a form of compliment. Since I couldn’t lie, although I can and excel at that too, without batting an eye, but I try not to, I admitted to it. So, damn, now everyone in the unit knows where I will be going off to in a month’s time. On the other hand, they are all so truly happy for me that I feel very blessed.

With the current economic depression going around the globe, I suppose that some will consider it a pretty unadvisable move to switch from the public sector where everything is steady as a rock to the private sector where nothing is for sure. However, someone whom I am very fond of and greatly look up to once said that life is not worth living if you don’t take risks. Besides, who will be in a more appropriate position to take risks than I myself who have no commitment at all. I have practically nothing to risk in the first place and no one to support except for myself. Thankfully, my parents are supportive as usual.

This is a risk which I would not have thought twice to give it a shot. This is the only one company which I have always wanted to go into and this is the job which I have always wanted to take up. The current job has been a mere career stepping stone right from the start, even though it has turned out to be a lot more meaningful than expected. In fact, it has been quite fulfilling and I’ve slipped into such a comfortable zone that when the company asked me to go for an interview, I was reluctant to. Fortunately, the HR executive was persistent and I thought why not to give it a try and sharpen up my interview skills at the same time. I didn’t even think that I shone at the interview because part of me didn’t really wish to get the job as I found it hard to abandon my team.

Hence I was truly surprised when I was offered the job eventually. Sometimes it appears that the less you want something, the more it will come to you. I also like to think that I have been prepared in ways such that I hadn’t let Opportunity have the chance to leave a post-it note on my door that said, “Knocked, but you weren’t in.” Of course, Lady Luck played a part too and sprinkled some luck dust on my head at 9am that fateful morning when I was due for the interview and the interviewers looked like they just climbed out of bed semi-asleep. I may be narcissistic occasionally, like how I think I will be brilliant at this new job haha, but I have come to accept that skills, diligence or intelligence, or everything combined, may still be insufficient to get what you want as hard as you may try. Sometimes luck is undeniably important.

Yet I never thought that this day would come. Except in one of my wildest dreams, and today this dream has come to life. 😉

This is ten percent luck, twenty percent skill
Fifteen percent concentrated power of will
Five percent pleasure, fifty percent pain
And a hundred percent reason to remember the name
– Fort Minor “Remember the Name”

