One of the most inspirational songs I’ve heard for the longest time:

Heather Small – Proud

I look into the window of my mind
Reflections of the fears I know I’ve left behind
I step out of the ordinary
I can feel my soul ascending
I am on my way
Can’t stop me now
And you can do the same

What have you done today to make you feel proud?
It’s never too late to try
What have you done today to make you feel proud?
You could be so many people
If you make that break for freedom
What have you done today to make you feel proud?

Still so many answers I don’t know
Realise that to question is how we grow
So I step out of the ordinary
I can feel my soul ascending
I am on my way
Can’t stop me now
And you can do the same

What have you done today to make you feel proud?
It’s never too late to try
What have you done today to make you feel proud?
You could be so many people
If you make that break for freedom
What have you done today to make you feel proud?

We need a change
Do it today
I can feel my spirit rising
We need a change
So do it today
‘Cause I can see a clear horizon

What have you done today to make you feel proud?
So what have you done today to make you feel proud?
‘Cause you could be so many people
If you make that break for freedom
So what have you done today to make you feel proud?
What have you done today to make you feel proud?
What have you done today
You could be so many people?
Just make that break for freedom
So what have you done today to make you feel proud?

 

So what have you done today to make you feel proud?

Ponder upon it.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ 

I may be far from the nicest person on Earth but I can safely say that I do something worthy to be proud of myself (almost) every single day.

And that’s not because I’m one of the most arrogant people you ever know.  

That’s because I do not give a shit about what others think of me, and I only do what I think is right, not what I think others will expect of me or wish to see me do. Even if they think what I do is bullshit or means nothing. Even if they do not see my point or they think the worst of me. But what the fuck, they do not understand me anyway, so what the fuck do I care about what they think. I answer to no one but myself. Nothing but my own conscience.

The truth is, you need not move the gods, you need not fight for the people, you need not march on the streets swinging huge signs and shouting slogans. You just need to do what is right. It is more difficult than it sounds, but trust me, it will be worth the effort at the end of the day.

