Lots of things are mysteries. But that doesn’t mean that there isn’t an answer to them. It’s just that scientists haven’t found the answer yet.

For example, some people believe in the ghosts of people who have come back from the dead…

Eventually scientists will discover something that explains ghosts, just like they discovered electricity, which explained lightning, and it might be something about people’s brains, or something about the earth’s magnetic field, or it might be some new force altogether. And then ghosts won’t be mysteries. They will be like electricity and rainbows and nonstick frying pans.

 — Chapter 151

I don’t want to hide the fact that I’m fascinated with death. Or rather, the possiblity of life after death. No, I do not think that I will want to lead another life after the current one ends. I just wonder what happens when we all die. Personally, I think that nothing really happens after we breathe our last. We probably just slip into a permanent slumber without waking up ever. It’s like a computer. We just switch off, that’s all. I hope that’s really what will occur because eternal life is scary! But I won’t know for sure because I’m still kicking and alive, and I’ve never met or spoken to someone who is dead. Perhaps there’s afterlife? Then what sort of world will it be? Will it be like ours? Can we fly then? Glow? Walk through walls? The possiblities are endless and they intrigue me.

I was morbid as a child and thought plenty about death since young. I think it was a book I read, about some children who died and discovered a whole new world after death. One of them was dead because he was curious about afterlife and as they say, “curiosity kills the cat”. He let himself get knocked down by a car so that he would finally know the truth. The act was sick in the logical sense but the thought stayed with me. Fortunately, my mum talked to us about the sin of suicide since young and I wanted to be good. Life was too good to abandon it for some truth which might turn out to be nothing anyway.

So is there life after death?

I believe that everything in this world has an equilibrium. Which is why babies are born and people die. Water evaporates and water condenses. Energy goes from the plants to the herbivores to the carnivores and finally to manure or carcasses that decompose and return nutrients back to the soil where the plants can utilise. When an equilibrium breaks down, all may be lost. Species may be wiped out. Natural resources may get depleted. Dramatic climatic changes may descend upon mankind. Which is why balance is important. The equilibrium needs to be maintained.

Hence suppose when I die, I go to this “other world” where everyone else also arrive when they stop living. Now, there needs to be some of us leaving the same world at the same time, right? Reincarnation? Maybe. Then it will form a nice complete cycle linking the population of the living world and that of the already dead. An equilibrium. That doesn’t say that I believe in reincarnation. Like I said, I hope all end completely for me after the heart stops beating. I only believe in Science.

So don’t be surprised when I say I don’t believe in the concept of Heaven. Everyone goes in (that counting those who go to Hell like I will, at least in their context) and no one comes out? Then I’ll say that the heaven will be one damn crowded place like China and I won’t want to be in China, will I? You can argue that since the “other world” is in another dimension (it has to be, I don’t think it can work out on the same plane as us), perhaps space is infinite. Thus the heaven will be able to house everyone who goes in, even if it’s over the span of thousands and thousands of years (since the concept was invented anyway). Which really doesn’t make any sense at all in the context of Science, and space and time is Science.

Perhaps they just find it reassuring that they are definitely going to somewhere very nice, warm and beautiful with gorgeous weather all day long, where everyone is kind and caring to each other and does relaxing activities like singing, dancing and playing the harps all the time. Instead of the cold harsh reality we all live in where lying is breakfast, backstabbing is lunch, murder is dinner and war is supper. Now doesn’t the former seem like a much better option? Truth or not, it remains for Science to prove and I won’t want to spoil anyone’s dream.

Until then, I shall share this Bizarro comic I once read. I tried finding the image online but to no avail. In short, it was a drawing of an elderly couple walking on the clouds, apparently in Heaven, and the husband was lamenting to his wife, “We shouldn’t have come here. We don’t have any friends here.” LOL, the same may just apply to me. 

