Do you hear me,
I’m talking to you
Across the water across the deep blue ocean
Under the open sky, oh my, baby I’m trying

Boy I hear you in my dreams
I feel your whisper across the sea
I keep you with me in my heart
You make it easier when life gets hard

I’m lucky I’m in love with my best friend
Lucky to have been where I have been
Lucky to be coming home again
Ooohh ooooh oooh oooh ooh ooh ooh ooh

They don’t know how long it takes
Waiting for a love like this
Every time we say goodbye
I wish we had one more kiss
I’ll wait for you, I promise you, I will

I’m lucky I’m in love with my best friend
Lucky to have been where I have been
Lucky to be coming home again
Lucky we’re in love in every way
Lucky to have stayed where we have stayed
Lucky to be coming home someday

And so I’m sailing through the sea
To an island where we’ll meet
You’ll hear the music fill the air
I’ll put a flower in your hair

Though the breeze is through trees
Move so pretty, you’re all I see
As the world keeps spinning round
You hold me right here right now

I’m lucky I’m in love with my best friend
Lucky to have been where I have been
Lucky to be coming home again
I’m lucky we’re in love in every way
Lucky to have stayed where we have stayed
Lucky to be coming home someday

Ooohh ooooh oooh oooh ooh ooh ooh ooh
Ooooh ooooh oooh oooh ooh ooh ooh ooh

 

This song by Jason Mraz and Colbie Caillat, taken off his remarkable “We Sing, We Dance, We steal” album, is such a sweet song, and yet makes me so melancholic.

I’m lucky I’m in love with my best friend.

Yes, that’s true. One will be so lucky to have this.

Are your parents each another’s best friend?

Mine are and aren’t. They sure weren’t best friends when they got married. Till this day, they remain two vastly different individuals in many ways…yet they have each other and they love each other so much. I don’t care that they may not be best friends. I’m so happy that they found each other and I’m relieved how they will always stay by each other’s side, through thick and thin, to the very last day. Every day I see elderly in the hospital, limping or staggering on their own, and I feel so sad that they don’t have anyone with them, no one to care for them. I may not be scared of being on my own at this stage of my life (although to be fair, I’ve my family and friends), perhaps because I’m still fit and healthy but I must admit that loneliness is particularly painful when you are old and sick.

They don’t know how long it takes
Waiting for a love like this
 

Yet I don’t want to rush into anything just because I don’t want to be alone in my later years. My parents’ marriage and their values and perspectives taught me plentiful over the years. They showed me how beautiful it is to have someone whom you truly love. They taught me how easy and how tough it actually is to maintain a marriage. They proved how two distinctively different individuals can get married, stay married and start a warm happy family if they want to. Part of them showed me how lovely marriage and family can be and yet at the same time, part of them made me fear, although I shall not elaborate. But one thing my mum always emphasizes is to wait…for the right one. I think I’ll rather take the cold bed with no one to warm up to at night than the numerous arguments or tears I might have with the wrong partner. I’ll rather take the bus on my own than to face the regret of marrying the wrong guy for the rest of my life. I’ll rather gaze fondly at my friends’ children, thinking how adorable they are, than to feel reproachable when I look at my children because I can’t love their father.

A friend’s recent relationship woes made me ponder even more. Although to be frank, I would say that she has brought the problems on herself and really has no one to blame. I’m sorry if she reads this but this is honestly what I felt. She is still a treasured friend and I will not judge a friend, definitely not one to lose a friend just because of some guy whom I have never met, do not wish to meet and will never give the fuck about as well. But I hope someone or something will give her a hard knock on her skull soon and wake her up. 

Love may make the world go round, but for some, it will end your world.

