No, we did not meet God.

Although to some fashionistas, he may be equivalent in his own way.

As told by my colleague E, one of her vendors went to Paris for a holiday with his family recently. Somewhere along the streets of Paris at some point in time, they decided to take a photgraph. Hence he approached a man in his 50s who was with his wife and two young boys, and asked if he could help them take one.

The man looked at the vendor guy quizzically and asked, “Do you know who I am?”

*after careful scrutinization* “Hmm, no?”

“Where are you from?”

“Oh, Singapore.”

“Do you know Takashimaya?”

“Yes, I do.”

“Do you know the Ted Baker in Takashimaya?”

*wondering where this was leading to* “Yes…” 

“I’m Ted Baker.”

“Ooooohhhhhhh!!!!”

“Then can we take a photo with you?”

“Yes!”

 

LOL. Seriously. I’m not joking. That’s how a random guy from Singapore randomly bumped into the founder of an international design label on the streets of Paris and had the honour of taking a photograph with him.

Upon hearing this chance encounter, I wasn’t sure whether to take Ted Baker as witty and humorous or simply haughty and arrogant. After reading some articles about the man, I’ve decided that it’s more of the latter. This and this are particularly interesting reads.

But the man who introduced himself as ”Ted Baker” was not really Ted Baker. It is an alias for a England-raised Jew by the name of Ray Kelvin who first opened a men’s shirts business in Glasgow in 1988 that evolved into a full-blown international fashion and lifestyle brand. Kelvin simply called the company Ted Baker. It wasn’t because he liked the name or the persona suggested by the name. He simply wanted to hide behind a name, perhaps any name, because he was scared that he might fail.

Now we know that his prior worries were totally unneccesary.

I like the Ted Baker shop in Singapore from the classy clothes to the elaborate and imaginative decor, but I don’t exactly fancy the price tags. In fact, I’ve never ever stepped into that shop before because I know I can’t afford anything there for now. I was telling E how her vendor should shop at Ted Baker and when paying, demand a huge discount. Should the cashier refuse, wipe out the photo and pointing at Ted Baker, ask the cashier, “Do you know who this is?”

“Hmm, no?”

“Do you know where you are working at now?”

“Hmm, Ted Baker.”

“Well, that’s Ted Baker!”

And if the poor cashier can’t recognise the designer, which I wouldn’t feel surprised as he seemed pretty low-profile, say something along the line of “Hrmph, I’ll tell Ted when we meet for tea at Paris tomorrow” in a aloof manner. And of course, complete with a British accent.

