Tuesday, May 13th, 2008


and I’m still in the office.

Friends would know that this is miraculous because much to many’s envy, I end work punctually at 5.30pm every single workday if all my work (which is usually not a lot by the way) has been completed. *hallelujah music in the background

If you are wondering, my boss did come to the hospital just in time to see the patients and that’s after I messaged her again at 3pm to ask her to come before 3.30pm. She came exactly at 3.30pm much to my delight which was timely because the patients just finished their last test and didn’t have to wait at all. She even had the spare time to complete one report for me *hallelujah* and the patient to be admitted today reported early (what luck!) so she even examined the patient before she went for her clinic. *HALLELUJAH!* This all boded really well for me because I was eliminated of the usual headache of calling her again and reminding her to see the patient after her clinic.

The luck kind of ran out when the techs couldn’t find a particular file I was looking for, which I needed urgently for the boss to view after her clinic so that she could complete the report. The patient had called me to request for his report because he needs a surgery and the results of the report will be important to affirm the necessity of the surgery. This IS urgent and I WANT to have the report ready for him, but much to my horror, the techs couldn’t find the bloody file anywhere on the drives and declared it MISSING!

What the fuck, I thought, this is a hospital! How can they lose patients’ study data just like that?

I was immensely pissed.

Yes, we are colleagues who get along just fine and yes, we are friends, but work is work and when it comes to work, I expect no nonsense. I can stand their gossiping, chit-chatting, folling around, running around hitting each other, playing PSPs and watching stuff on their PMPs during work, even though I find it too loud and distracting, very unproductive and extremely unprofessional when they get loud enough for visitors and patients to hear. It’s all alright as long as they have no work to do which is really possible in our context, believe it or not. But when it comes to patients, I hope that they can be courteous, friendly and helpful. I can only hope because I’m not their manager (whom they call a bitch LOL) and therefore cannot expect anything from them. Strictly speaking, I’m not even from their unit.

From time to time, I do get irritated by their work ethics and today has to be the worst situation ever. I had to look through the hundreds of files on the many different drives to scan for the particular file. To make it worse, I realised that there was no order in which the files were saved and arranged. I had to look through one by one as a result, which was darn exasperating! It was noted in the records which they keep that the file hasn’t been archived yet but since it couldn’t be found in the drives, we had to look through ALL the archives. Time-consuming and totally unnecessary had they kept everything in order in the beginning!     

By the time my boss finished her clinic and came to the unit, they still didn’t have the slightest idea where it could be and worse still, they told me of the possibility of it being deleted. I thought, what the fuck, they are not the ones who have to answer to the patient and that put aside, losing data so carelessly is just absolutely irresponsible!!! Maybe for fear of me telling on them to my boss (who’s also their boss since she’s the director now) or simply out of plain fear for my boss, they had an emergency meeting outside the lab and out of our listening range to discuss the possible location of the file. Luckily for them, I’m too kind to be telling on anyone and I wasn’t planning on telling her that until they could confirm that the file was lost for good. Nevertheless, they told her after reaching a conclusion – which is that they’ll try their best to look ALL over for it again.

Not sure if it would be an useful attempt considering that I did look ALL over for it in the first place while they were doing the search themselves, but I truly wish to hope for the best because it’s an utterly expensive test which we won’t want to repeat for obvious reasons and because of the inconvenience caused to the patient should he really need to do the test again (even if it’s FOC).

Darn, it’s 7pm. This post is taking longer than expected. Time to end it, go home and watch “Police and Thief”.

i’m silly, I know.

It’s 2.45pm.

Patients having their last test at 3pm.

Test to be completed at 3.30pm.

Patients discharged.

 

Boss?

Nowhere in sight yet despite my reminder sms to her at 1pm.

 

Patient discharged at 3.30pm.

Which part of this does she not understand?

Damn irritating. (-.-)

 

One of the patients is celebrating her son’s 11th birthday today. The other one has a function in the evening. There’s no way I’m going to let them wait for her blindly.

I’m going to let them go off punctually at 3.30pm despite the possiblity of the boss’ displeasure. The patients come first.

Hrmph.

It’s just crazy. Barely 3 hours have passed and I feel that I’ve done a day’s work. (-.-)

Physically juggling between finishing up with patients admitted yesterday, doing the admin work for the one to be admitted later in the afternoon, doing the final preparation for this Saturday’s AGM, and mentally fixing the schedule for me to do all of these, plus trying to get the doctor to come and examine the research patients in between her clinic patients. This last part is, non-coincidentally, the toughest of all because the doctor doesn’t seem to understand what it means by “patient discharging at 3.30pm”. It means that the doctor needs to see the patient before the discharge time but no, the doctor thinks that it’s reasonable to have the patient wait for her in the ward until she has the time. (-.-)

It’s on busy days like this when I keep forgetting what I’m supposed to do the moment after I remind myself to do it. It doesn’t help that I’ve to walk from place to place within the hospital like my office to the ward to other administrative offices. For example, I was going to take the stairs down from the ward to the Admission Office directly downstairs to pick up a file and then proceed to the Business Office just around the corner to submit some documents. It helps save time because of the convenience. However the moment I stepped through the door of the ward, it was wiped clean from my celebral cortex. Instead, I walked through the next door which leads to another ward, where I can just walk through and take the lift right up to my office. (-.-)

And just now, I stepped out of the lift at the 7th floor instead of the 8th when the door opened. It took me 3 steps before I realised I was on the wrong floor!

Even though I’m very occupied, when my patient asked for a cup of Milo just now, I spared 5 minutes to make one specially for him. I’ve a habit of asking the patients whether there’s anything that they may need or I can help with because I want to try my best and make sure that they kind of feel more at home in the ward. Secretly, of course, I do wish that they’ve no further request. On rare occasions when they do have special requests like some Milo/extra blanket or pillow, I’m truly pleased to serve, with no complaints. Sure, I can ask the clerk to do these for me but I don’t really like to trouble others and it’s only when I do it on my own can I be assured of the quality of service haha.

Glad that the patient complimented on the Milo because I’ve never made Milo before! Instructions (one big spoonful of Milo powder plus 2 packets of creamer and some sugar) were given by the clerk. I don’t drink that kind of stuff haha.  

Okay, time for a quick lunch (I’m starving) before the frenzy starts again. 😀

I’ve just half an hour before I start my crazy day at work. Okay, officially I do start work at 9am and I do reach the office before that, but usually I take the first hour to have my breakfast and do some reading (ie blogs and daily news haha). Last week was quite busy and the start to this week is just as insane. 😀

It’s good. I like to be insane.

Anyway here’s just ten random thoughts which occurred to me on my 45 minute-long bus ride to work and I thought I should put them on my blog.

  1. I hate it when birds chirp or sing or make whatever strange sound they are capable of and I cannot spot them, therefore unable to identify the more exotic ones. They are usually perched high up on the trees and nicely concealed from prying eyes like mine by the foliage. Drives me crazy to hear them and not see them.
  2. There’s this flock of chickens that live somewhere near a private estate at Marymount Road. Seriously. My bus passes by the estate every morning and you can see the chickens having their breakfast on the patch of grass just beside the road. By “flock”, I mean a clan of over ten roosters and hens, mainly white feathered. Really adorable. And this morning I spotted two white fluffy chicks with the mother hen! Damn, these creatures are breeding! No wonder their number seems to be growing! Anyway sometimes you can spot the flock at the expansive field (state property) opposite, which brings one question to mind: You mean the chickens cross the road in the middle of the night?? Because the field and the estate are separated by a wide 2-way road. But then of course, they could always use the overhead bridge. Safer than jay-walking, which is illegal anyway.   
  3. Spotted a plantain squirrel on a tree behind a bus stop. Realised that I’m pretty apt at spotting animals (okay, probably except birds – see point 1) because I’m the one who spot the monitor lizards, the macaques, the skinks, the snakes and point them out to friends when we go trekking.
  4. Passed by RJC, saw the students having their PE lessons on the track and courts, and remembered the good old JC days when our class would play captain’s ball/soccer/frisbee during PE lessons. The good old days when I was fit as a fiddle and could really run. Now even climbing 4 storeys of stairs can cut my breath.
  5. Pondered upon the 7.8 magnitude quake which rippled from a mountainous area of Sichuan province across much of China yesterday afternoon, and killed some 10,000 people. Pained my heart to hear that about 900 teenagers were buried under a collapsed school building. Such young lives lost. The death toll is definitely going to increase much more over the next few days. Remembered that the Olympics is going to commence in August and wondered if Mother Nature doesn’t like the mainland too much, for She has given them such a big “present”.
  6. With Myanmar’s death toll totalling to over 30,000 due to cyclone Nargis and China’s current loss at over 10,000, wondered if Mother Nature is doing population control on Asia, the most populous continent on Earth and undoubtedly severely overpopulated.
  7. Saw the “Sex and the City: the Movie” poster at one of the bus stops and realised that several movies are coming out in May: Made of Honour, Accuracy of Death, The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian. This means expenditure.
  8. Just realised that next Monday is Vesak Day ie public holiday! How could I have not remembered? Struggled between staying at home to sleep and rest and going out with friends. No plans made yet but a foetus of a plan can be easily created. For one, my blades are gathering dust under my bed. (-.-)
  9. Remembered that tomorrow is CardioMix day. Damn, I swear the previous lesson seemed just like yesterday. Not sure if I’ve the energy to jump around, kick and punch in class tomorrow night. (-.-)
  10. Recalled the advertisement about some sanitary pads I saw on TV which commented how interesting it’s to be a woman because many thoughts can occur to her concurrently. How true. 😀 

It’s time for work! (okay, I do realise that I’m 15 minutes past the preset time)