*sigh* Having a bad pimple breakout that never seems to calm down these days. Might be the insanely blazing hot weather.

Just as I was depressed and down from my current skin condition, yesterday as I was at AMK Hub, I spotted this little girl.

You might say that she was no ordinary girl. For she has severe facial deformities, not sure whether accidental or congenital. Her nose, which should be a tiny button nose for little girls of her age (maybe 4-5 years), was swollen, huge and kind of joined to the right side of her face, which also seemed to droop. Her left side was alright though. I honestly don’t know what I would do to myself should I be in her state. But of course she was very young, and perhaps still ignorant that she didn’t look quite the same as other children.   

So there she was, all decked in nice pink clothes, looking just like how any other girl would look like. And she was walking outside the Lee Hwa Jewellery store, looking at herself in the mirrored wall of the showcases, smiling.

For a moment, I thought I was about to cry. Here I was, worrying about how I looked, when this little girl, no bigger than a golf bag, was living bravely with facial deformities that instantly marked her different from all other people and probably for the rest of her life.

Why should I let things bother me so much when in reality, the same problems might mean nothing in significance to others?

 

Reflect upon your present blessings, of which every man has plenty; not on your past misfortunes of which all men have some.
— Charles Dickens

