Well, I did mention that I’m a bit haywire.

Which is why this is my 3rd blog post for today. 😛

I actually watched TWO movies yesterday, one at the cinema and the other on the Internet. Yes, I do LOVE my movies very very much haha. Thank you very much.

The former is of course “Horton” which I’ll try to blog about tomorrow, should time permit. Because it’s such an awesome movie, I’ll definitely need more than mere minutes to praise it to the heavens which is what this movie absolutely deserves. The latter is a 2006 Japanese movie, “Boys Love” which interestingly never made it to the theatres even in its homeland Japan. Instead it was released via DVD directly. However due to the overwhelming commercial success of it, the director directed and completed a new version “Boys Love theatrical edition” which was subsequently released in the theatres.  

Before you jump into any conclusion about the movie, probably due to the cliched title, I’ll describe it as an emotionally charged, moving and thought-provoking piece of work that explores the loneliness and emptiness someone can feel despite seeming to possess plenty, and how these two factors can drive this person to do the most terrible (in most people’s opinions) things to him/herself. Which unfortunately happens to more people than you and I know of.

This 83-minute film has meaningful proverbs popping up at vital segments, which help to enhance, or in some cases where people are unfortunately less sensitive (to put it in a nice way), help people see how the characters and their relationships develop during the movie. I LOVE the idea. The proverbs really make the movie more artistic, even though the acting of the two young men isn’t up to par with what I would’ve expected from the Japanese actors.   

To name a few favourites:

We meet, come to know each other, fall in love and part right after.
This is how many sad stories evolve.
Samuel Taylor Coleridge

Without the slightest doubt, there is love in this world.
What worries me is how to express it.
Osamu Dazai

As long people have friends to share their sadness,
it becomes easier to bear.
Shakespeare

In love there is only one law: to make your love happy.
Stendhal

The greatest joy Love can give you, is to take your lover’s hand for the first time.
Stendhal

Love is a sacred madness.
Renaissance Proverb

If somebody asks why I loved the way I did,
I’ll answer that both of us were authentic.
That is my only answer
Montaigne

The ending is of course saddening. What else would you expect from a movie titled “Boys Love”? I didn’t drop a single tear throughout the entire movie, even when Noeru, well, had a very unpleasant encounter (to put it bluntly), except during the last minute. The last scene was at the beach and the guys were sitting on the shore facing the sea. Mamiya looks at Noeru who’s “sleeping peacefully” (ie dead) by his side, with his head on Mamiya’s shoulder, and says, “With this, we’ll have no regrets, right?”. He gets up, carries Noeru in his arms and walks into the sea. He walks and walks deeper into the sea until the waters cover them totally and you can’t see their heads anymore. *credits roll*  

Let me put this straight first: I condemn suicide. Suicide is nothing right and everything wrong. You put a knife through your loved ones’ hearts when you end your life on purpose irregardless of the reason to do so. It’s selfish. I even think of it as the greatest sin of all. To look at it clearer, “Boys Love” actually romantize (no such word but you get what I’m trying to say) suicide for love, which to be logical and sensible is just plain WRONG and may misguide the young and the immature.

But Mamiya’s words can’t help but ring constantly in my ears, my brain, my heart.

All of a sudden I felt what he was feeling and I just started sobbing.

Love is really a sacred madness.

When two people cry together for the first time,
they understand how much they love each other.
Emile Deschamps

