Yesterday was the release date for the movie “Step Up 2 The Streets” and I caught it last night with my girls!

One word to describe the movie: dope!!

If you don’t know what that means, yo, then it just means you ain’t street enough haha.  

I remember the first time I saw someone move like they were from another planet, I couldn’t keep my eyes away. I was little, Mom took me to a jam session in the neighborhood. It started off small but word spread and soon some of the best dancers around were showing up to compete in something they eventually called the Streets. It became home. I got a front row seat to history. I wanted to glide and spin and fly like they did, but it didn’t come easy. My mom would tell me, don’t give up, just be you, because life’s too short to be anybody else. She was right. When I was 16 my mom got sick and in a couple of months she was gone. Everything changed, including the streets.

– Andie

If you like hip-hop or dance or simply a feel-good movie, then this is the movie to catch! Don’t go in expecting to see some Oscar-winning storyline or acting and you’ll definitely come out feeling more about the movie. “Don’t give up, just be you because life’s too short to be somebody else.” This is one of the best lines I’ve heard for a long time.

Basically the story tells of Andie who is a member of the 410 crew which goes around showcasing their talents illegally. An old friend who’s a brotherly figure (and an insanely hot one too), Tyler Gage (male lead of “Step Up“) understands her love for street dancing, so he gets her an audition for MSA – Maryland School of Arts, in which he studies (you’ll need to watch the first movie to understand this). She gets in but only by the kindness of Chase, a student at MSA, brother of its director, son of the founders and of course, the most popular guy in school. Chase saw Andie previously at an underground battle and is very impressed by her dancing. Due to school, Andie’s always late for rehearsals with the 410 crew and is kicked out of the 410 crew, meaning that she now cannot battle in “The Streets”. Chase who’s dying to compete in the underground too helps Andie to recruit people for her new crew. 10 people who are skilled are found to join them in their crew, the MSA crew. They start practising and realise that they aren’t good enough to battle at ‘the Streets’ yet. So Andie enforces the help of an old 410 crew member and her good friend, Missy who suggests that they make a “prank”, something that will help them get noticed and some respect. They direct their prank at the lead member of the 410 crew and Chase ended up being beatened by the 410 crew who also trashed the school. The director expells Andie and she is left shattered, the MSA crew dismissed. A few days later, while the school is hosting an important fundraiser, they all recieve the text message telling them where “The Streets” is being held. Andie chooses the ignore this but the others feel it nesessary to take part and go call on Andie. Upon convincing her, they head down to “The Streets” for one last showdown.

Like I said, it’s dope!!

Chase and Andie are played by Robert Hoffman and and Briana Evigan. Honestly, I’ve never heard of both of them haha, but I guess they do make a pretty cute pair in the movie.  

Robert Hoffman is quite good-looking and dances pretty well, though he looks a tad too old to be playing a student in MSA haha. Just realised that he’s 28 this year and so is Channing Tatum but I guess Channing has an enviable baby face which makes him convincing as a student. And while Robert might be good-looking, Channing is simply, may I repeat, insanely hot lah!!! He makes a cameo in the early part of the movie where he found Andie at the underground club and tried to persuade her to go to MSA. Andie refused to and he challenged her to a battle, stating that if he won, she would have to agree. That battle was just crazy!!! He was just flipping here and there using the spring board like a piece of cake!! So smooth, so hot. *fans myself* Sad that that was all we saw of him in this movie. 😦

freaking hot

even with his clothes on, baby

And all the dance choreography in the movie was freaking jaw-dropping!!! The movie starts off with a prank made by the 410 crew on a cabin in the subway. All the crew members enter the cabin like normal people on their way home after their usual daily business, along with some of the public. Then they start putting on their scary masks one by one and dancing, jumping, prancing about in the cabin like lunatics! It is a brilliant showcase of talents and creativity, though I would be freaked to death if I was on the train with them haha. It’s supposed to be illegal anyway because it harasses the public.

And then we’ve the impressive display put on by Channing Tatum (“legendary” Tyler Gage in the DJ’s own words haha) during the battle with Andie at the club. The prank played by the MSA crew was, in no other words, dope too!!! HILARIOUS. You’ll have to see it to know what I mean exactly. To pull that kind of prank and post it on the Internet, it’s going to be damn hard not to be famous haha! Even if it means getting into a truckload of trouble!

Lastly, if you thought that the dance scenes in “Step Up” was, well, dope, then these in the sequel will be double the dope!!!

Channing Tatum (!!!!!!!!) doing his thing

“Step Up”

“Step up 2 The Streets” is:

D-O-P-E!!!

And while the final dance scene in the first movie was already super innovative and captivating, the one in the sequel with all the rain, everyone wet and sexy (even with a group of social outcasts like the MSA crew), pardon me but I really can’t find a better word, DOPE!!!! Man, DOPE!!!

The music, the choreography, the moves, it was so intense! I think I almost forgot to breathe! It really, really makes you wanna stand up and shake ya bom bom along, turning the entire theatre into MoS Smoove!!

AHHHHHH!!!!!!! DOOOOOPPPPPPEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Pardon my excitement. More than 12 hours after the movie and I’m still feeling an unexplainable high from it haha. And oh yes, how could I forget! A great dance movie always needs to have a great soundtrack otherwise you won’t feel the groove, the heat, the moves haha.

The “Step Up 2 The Streets” soundtrack is, needless to say, DOPE as hell!

Flo Rida’s “Low” really makes me wanna “hit the flo” and “get low, low, low, low, low, low, low, low” haha. Make me the soundtrack, please??

I’ve no freaking idea why Enrique Iglesias is doing there. (-.-)

The marvellous thing about this movie is them getting a bunch of seemingly misfits, each with a dance talent to kill and yet is either in the wrong department where their skills can never be put to use or has their particular talents ignored by the instructors (who I swear only like ballet). You look at each of the MSA crew and you think to yourself, damn me if this fellow can dance! Then the music starts and you can go and damn yourself because you do not know how not to judge a book by its cover haha. There’s the overly enthusiastic geek and the seemingly ordinary Asian guy (a need to have at least one Asian in recent films) who turns out to be brilliant free-stylers; the super nice black guy who likes to smile but is told not to by the teachers because of his crooked teeth, and is the few black guys I’ve ever seen who can somehow look geeky; another black girl who seems awkward and again, nerdy; the funny Korean girl who’s a hardcore hip-hop fan but can’t speak proper English; and the list goes on.

They seem like a darn odd group, a joke put together by God and yet together the MSA crew can kill with their smooth moves. If anything, this movie is trying to remind us that “Don’t give up, just be you because life’s too short to be somebody else“. There’s this part in the movie where Andie told Chase how she used to think that what her mum told her was silly because she didn’t understand how you could be anyone else. How true, but indeed how many of us grew up being carbon copies of each other, of any random person on the streets, of the perfect child our parents want us to be the perfect student our teachers want us to be, and forget what we ourselves want to be.   

Smiles: Yeah, they wanted me to fix my teeth.
Jenny Kido (the Korean): I like you teeth!
Smiles: Thanks, I like your accent.
Jenny Kido: What accent?
Smiles: That accent you got… You have an accent.

Despite of what people think I look like, I am a fan of Hip-Hop. Just because I’m a bespectacled girl with black straight hair, ie look nothing like wild, doesn’t mean that I’m definitely the sort to listen to classical music or pop (or not wild, for that fact). Not that there’s anything wrong with these two genres, but if you want to get my blood pumping, then hip-hop is the only thing that can do the work. It’s not about decking in the baggiest clothes, the pimpest sneaks, piling on the blings (even though I do like my bling bling), slurring in street lingo – this is stereotyping.

I actually just like the musicality of hip-hop music. If you listen to hip-hop songs carefully, I’ve to agree with you that most of the stuff out there has no real deep meaning anymore, unlike the old school rap. Which is why Nas said that Hip-Hop is dead anyway haha. To be fair, I think a few artistes like Kanye West still write meaningful lyrics here and there. Anyway I don’t think that people these days take the lyrics seriously. I mean, just look at the clubbers at Smoove. How many of them actually know what they are dancing to? No freaking idea, baby. They are there because these songs are good to dance, bounce, rock and shake to. And there are babes there and the place is packed like hell (meaning easy to get fresh with girls).

Like Chris Rock, I’m tired of defending for rap music too. It’s not because I do think rap is misogynistic, unoriginal and sexually explicit – a malady of commercial Hip-Hop. Some songs might be too explicit, some misogynistic but unoriginal? I think not. Musicality counts. Just look at Jay Chou. Who the hell knows what he’s singing about? Half of the time, I don’t know what he’s mumbling and even with the lyrics, I don’t understand the poetry-like sentences. I think he himself doesn’t know what Fang Wenshan is writing. But as long as the lyrics sound smooth and sophiscated, the music original and innovative, hey it’ll sell and be a chart-topper! Same with Hip-Hop. In fact, the reason why I listened to Jay Chou in the first place was because he had a track which was Chinese pop fused with Hip-Hop and it was, and still is, rare to hear anything hip-hop/rap in a Chinese song.   

So I walked into the the theatre a Hip-Hop fan and I came out with an even stronger conviction.
