I actually don’t have anything to blog today! It’s probably due to the fact that I’m sick (-.-) The strange thing was that I felt fine this morning but just before I stepped out of my house, I started sneezing and the whole uncomfortable nasal congestion started. (-.-) I might be allergic to working haha.

It’s perfect that I don’t have much to do this week and there’s no client for me to meet. I think it’s super unhygienic to meet clients when one’s sneezing and has a runny nose that one has to blow every minute. Putting work aside, the 2 books which I’ve placed reservations from NLB and been waiting for the longest time have to arrive at the same time. (-.-) While I enjoy reading especially good works, I generally don’t read other than when I’m travelling. Obviously, as free as I’m, I can’t possibly read at work; at home, I usually spend the time chatting with my family, reading newspapers and watching TV. I try not to read before bedtime too as it usually pushes back my bedtime which isn’t very healthy. So I hope I can finish these 2 books within the 3 weeks of loan.

These 2 books are written by 2 of my favourite authors whose debut novels I enjoy immensely, namely “The Almost Moon” by Alice Sebold and “A Thousand Splendid Suns” by Khaled Hosseini, both released in 2007. Alice Sebold wrote the unforgettable “The Lovely Bones” which talks about how a 14-year-old girl was brutally raped and murdered by a serial killer (her neighbor) on her way home from school one day. The story unfolds from heaven, where “life is a perpetual yesterday” and where Susie narrates and keeps watch over her grieving family and friends, as well as her brazen killer and the sad detective working on her case. On the other hand, Khaled Hosseini is of course the author of the stunning novel about Afghanistan, “The Kite Runner“, which I’ve blogged about previously.

I might be slow (as usual haha) but it’s better to be late than never!

While the second novel of Hosseini can boast of raving reviews from the critics equivalent to his debut, Alice Sebold’s third novel has been remarked as “disappointing” by the majority. Regardless of the reviews, even though a certain reviewer has said that “by sticking to her guns, exploring the gory truths of mental illness, adding layers of misery to ensure Helen’s story feels plausible – Sebold challenges the paying reader to enter a hell from which there may be no return*gulp*, I’m quite determined to finish the whole book. Haha though it might be way too early to promise that now.

Work and books (probably music, Internet and TV) put aside, there ain’t much in my life (but my family) now haha. I remember that I’ve a pair of $300+ roller blades which I’ve only used once since I bought them in August last year. *tsk tsk* I should really go blading more often but it’s so hard to get the girls. They work late, so weekdays aren’t a choice and there’s bound to be someone who can’t make it during the weekends. (-.-) Do you know that I’ve even dreamt once that I was blading and really good at it somemore haha? That’s how much I have been thinking about it, and the part where I was a great blader, well, that’s why it was a dream haha.   

And I want to play badminton too. I was looking at the online booking website just now, hoping maybe I could book a court for this weekend, but it’s all fully booked for the coming two weekends! (-.-) Maybe better luck next month haha. I should really start a regular exercise regime, considering that all the exercise I do now is walking to and fro between the bus stop/MRT station and my home/workplace, walking within my workplace building and yoga. Darn, I don’t even shop these days, so that’s one less workout opportunity!

All that walking doesn’t even break a sweat and while doing yoga does, it’s not cardiac exercise. (-.-) Besides I’m back to my once-per-week yoga practice haha. Before CNY, I was actually practicing, if not doing stretching and carrying weights, for 4-5 nights per week. It was kind of like a New Year resolution. Well, there must really be a curse on all New Year resolutions because this workout regime only carried on for 2-3 weeks. Then it was CNY and I stopped. I haven’t start since haha. *guilty*

Now I’ve a cold and I’ve used it as an excuse to skip the workout for last week and this week too. I’m so good at finding excuses that I should be given a Guinness World Record. Anyway I said I’d nothing to blog about and I went on for probably a thousand words. I should be given a Guinness World Record for this too. It’s incredible. 😉

