1. CJ7 (长江七号)

I’m a gigantic fan of Stephen Chow 周星驰!

Love all his nonsensical but super duper funny movies!

Was telling my sis that I should write in to MediaCorp and ask them to rerun his movies instead of all the horrible HK movies that are on TV every weekend. She just glared at me and said, “看到都背了,还重播!”

So it means that I’m definitely going to catch his new movie! It’ll be released on 7th Feb (Thurs) which is 大年初一 and the day I’ll watch it. 🙂

周星驰, 我来也!

And how on earth can you miss out this adorable alien dog??? *awwww*

 

2. Kung Fu Dunk (功夫灌篮)

Chinese martial arts + basketball + Jay Chou 周杰伦 = Must watch 必看

Need I really say more?

It’s released on the same day as CJ7: 7th Feb. It’s going to be a fight but I’m hoping Stephen Chow can win haha. I’ll definitely watch this though.

 

3. Jumper

Opening on Valentine’s Day (14th Feb, Thurs) is this sci-fi thriller featuring Hayden Christensen (most famous for his role as Anakin Skywalker in the Star Wars movies) and Samuel L Jackson.

It’s about a young man discovering that he has a special ability to teleport himself anywhere (due to a genetic anomaly). He grows to learn that this gift has existed for centuries and finds himself in a war that has been raging for thousands of years between “Jumpers” like him and those who have sworn to kill them.

I’m a fan of movies involving genes and/or special abilities like teleporting. In fact, if I’m to be given one special ability, I will choose teleporting without any hesitation haha. So I’m going to watch this movie for sure even though I’m not a fan of Christensen. Anyway the very lovely Rachael Bilson from the O.C. is in it.  

**********************************

Ok, this next movie is not released in the coming month. Instead, the Kite Runner will be shown in Singapore tomorrow, 31st Jan (Fri)

I read the book also titled “The Kite Runner” (written by Khaled Hosseini) not too long ago and it was breath-taking. The storyline didn’t really appeal to me initially. It tells the story of Amir, the privileged son of a wealthy businessman in Kabul, and Hassan, the son of Amir’s father’s servant. As children in the relatively stable Afghanistan of the early 1970s, the boys are inseparable until an unspeakable event changes the nature of their relationship forever, and eventually cements their bond in ways neither boy could have ever predicted. Even after Amir and his father flee to America, Amir remains haunted by his cowardly actions and disloyalty. In part, it is these demons and the sometimes impossible quest for forgiveness that bring him back to his war-torn native land after it comes under Taliban rule, to try to make up for what he has done.

Doesn’t sound exciting? But believe me, once you start reading the book, you’ll be hooked. The author provides an educational and eye-opening account of Afghanistan’s political turmoil, while developing characters whose heartbreaking struggles and emotional triumphs resonate with readers long after the last page has been turned over. It’s an amazing read. No wonder it’s one of the top 3 best sellers for 2005 in the US. Now I’m on the NLB‘s waiting list for his 2nd book, A Thousand Splendid Suns, and the book’s so popular that I’ve been waiting for quite sometime!  

Not sure if I would watch the movie though. Not because the reviews are lousy. I read that the movie is as touching as the book. And that’s exactly what I fear. When I read the book, there were points when I’d to close the book and stop reading because I was on the bus and my tears were this close to dropping. I’m totally certain that if I watch the movie in the theatres, I’ll come out with a red nose and swollen eyes. Might be a hysterical sight. -.-

**********************************

That’s a total of 4 movies, i.e. a movie per week. And I haven’t even watch 27 Dresses! And to mention ALL the exciting movies that are coming out for the rest of the year, like 10,000 B.C. (6th March), The Spiderwick Chronicles (13th March), The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian (29th May), Sex And The City: The Movie (29th May), Hellboy 2: The Golden Army (10th July), The Dark Knight (17th July)!!!!! And these are only the few that I’m definitely interested in!

What a great year for a movie buff like me! I can foresee where all my money is going to!  

