Remember 2 days ago when I blogged about the 2 white-bellied sea eagles that dropped onto a balcony at Jalan Kayu (link)?

Well, I told my sis (who’s 200x more into biology and conservation than I am) about it once I reached home, knowing that she would be very excited. We always tell each other when we spot species of birds in our neighbourhood, which we’ve never seen here previously. Because it wasn’t in the newspapers (I only spotted the article in Today) until yesterday, I showed her the Today article and undoubtedly we started raving about the magnificent eagles.

My dad probably heard us (though it’s hard not to, since we were all in the living room at that time and 我家有4个女人, so that makes it a very big 巴刹) because the next day he told us that the article was in the Chinese newspapers that night too.

Except that he said those are 海鸥. -.-

“不可能啦!是老鹰!”

“报纸写海鸥leh.”

海鸥?

My sis and I just looked at each other flabberghasted, discussing how the reporters could have mixed up eagles and sea gulls when it was already previously reported as sea eagles, while my dad drew out the article.

Turned out that it was written as “海鵰” except that the 2nd word was written in simplified chinese (looks like this: 周鸟). I’d reckoned that it’s probably another word for 雕, you know, like 金庸’s 名作《神雕侠侣》. After some online research today, it proves that I was right. This “鵰” is just a 异体字 for “雕”.

According to this, 异体字 means variant form of a Chinese character. Since the white-bellied sea eagle is widely known as 白腹海雕, I’m quite surprised that our Chinese newspapers have used the less frequently used word. This not being the first time I’ve spotted wrong words (although this time round it’s not entirely incorrect) or sequencing of paragraphs in this newspapers recently, I wonder if the QC standard has dropped recently due to, as I understand, a change in organisation and management within the department. -.-

Anyway this wasn’t the point. My dad’s so funny right? And to think that he’s quite an expert in the Chinese language, having read almost all the famous literary works. My mum has also proven herself to be quite funny recently when she tried to describe to me a “big bird” which she saw perched on a tree right outside our corridor (we live on the 11th storey), and I suspect it to be an eagle/hawk/kite.

“比乌鸦还大的鸟, 然后被乌鸦赶走!”

-.-   

